East Moline meeting summaries, agendas, and minutes
Plain-English weekly recaps written from official meeting records. 7 weeks available.
Weeks
- week of 2026-08-24 — East Moline boards weigh park upgrades, TIF plan, and $115K playground purchase
- week of 2026-08-17 — East Moline Council to weigh Connector TIF, crash-team pact, and park upgrades
- week of 2026-08-10 — Fire Insurance Board Approves Equipment; Council to Consider Downtown Funding
- week of 2026-08-03 — East Moline roundup: Fire board approves station equipment; council set to vote on downtown funding and no-parking zones
- week of 2026-07-20 — East Moline Roundup: Lead Line Bids, Parking Changes, and Pension Review on Recent Agendas; NPDES Permit and Main Street Renewal Up This Week
- week of 2026-07-06 — East Moline Council to weigh lead pipe replacement bid, property purchases; recent board meetings remain unconfirmed
- week of 2026-06-29 — East Moline City Council to consider lead service line replacement bid and property purchases
Week of 2026-08-24
East Moline boards weigh park upgrades, TIF plan, and $115K playground purchase
East Moline city officials met last week to discuss a range of items, from park improvements to a wastewater treatment purchase, but no official decisions have been published yet. The agendas for the Park Board, City Council, and Committee of the Whole are available, but minutes are pending, so all items remain proposals.
Park Board (Aug. 11)
The Park Board reviewed its regular business, including approving minutes and finances. Key items on the agenda included:
- Garfield Park sand replacement
- Redoing park signs with updates
- A Halloween party and logo contest
- A new shelter at Butterworth Park
- A mini soccer pitch
No votes or decisions were reported.
City Council (Aug. 17)
The City Council held a public hearing on improvements to Empire Park and considered three first-reading ordinances (26-14, 26-15, 26-16) related to the Connector TIF redevelopment plan and project area designation. A waiver of the second reading was requested.
The council also considered two resolutions:
- Resolution 26-66: Approve a memorandum of understanding for the Multijurisdictional Crash Assistance Team (MCAT), a multi-agency crash response group.
- Resolution 26-67: Approve a $91,392.70 purchase of UV bulbs for the wastewater treatment plant.
The consent agenda included salaries of $535,791.63 and $520,239.05, overtime of $32,174.25 and $26,731.27, and bills totaling $522,4453.24.
Committee of the Whole (Aug. 17)
The Committee of the Whole discussed five items, all recommendations for the City Council to act on at a future meeting:
- Authorization to purchase playground equipment for Wiman Park ($61,717.37) and Radden Park ($53,422.37) from Park and Play, total $115,139.74.
- Authorization for a roof repair at Fire Station 21 by White Roofing, including layover and fascia replacement, for $31,051.00.
- Authorization for a spare check valve for High Service Pumps 4 and 5 at $15,559.00.
- Renewal of a $6,500,000 line of credit with Blackhawk Bank & Trust at 4.75% interest.
- An ordinance to prohibit parking on school days from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. on parts of 5th Street and 4th Street A near Hillcrest Elementary.
Coming up
No upcoming meetings are listed in the provided data. Residents should check the city’s official calendar for future meeting dates and agendas.
Week of 2026-08-17
East Moline Council to weigh Connector TIF, crash-team pact, and park upgrades
The East Moline City Council will meet Aug. 17 to consider a tax-increment financing plan for the East Moline Connector redevelopment project, an agreement to join a regional crash-response team, and a $91,392.70 purchase of UV bulbs for the wastewater treatment plant. The Committee of the Whole will also discuss a $115,139.74 playground equipment purchase for two parks.
Recent meetings
Four city bodies met in the past two weeks. Minutes have not yet been published, so only agenda items are known.
City Council (Aug. 3) – The agenda included approval of $540,450.82 in salaries, $26,044.08 in overtime, and $1,590,691.06 in bills. The council also considered renewing a $50,000 services agreement with East Moline Main Street for downtown redevelopment, approving $32,616 for concrete work at the 30th Avenue Lift Station, and a second reading of ordinance 26-13 to add no-parking zones.
Committee of the Whole (Aug. 3) – Items included a memorandum of understanding to join the Multijurisdictional Crash Assistance Team (MCAT) for shared crash-reconstruction resources, a purchase of UV disinfection bulbs for the wastewater plant (amount not specified), a 15th Avenue streetscaping and storm-sewer change order, an ordinance approving the East Moline Connector Tax Increment Financing Redevelopment Plan, and a request to create the “Pathways Heritage Interpretive Trail.”
Special Service Area Committee (Aug. 4) – The committee reviewed bills for Respect Abilities (July–Dec 2026), a RAISE Grant update, Runners’ Park maintenance, and future plans, goals, and budget.
Park Board (Aug. 11) – The board discussed Garfield Park sand replacement, updating park signs, a Halloween party and logo contest, a Butterworth Park shelter, and a mini soccer pitch.
Upcoming meetings
City Council (Aug. 17) – The council will hold a public hearing on Empire Park improvements and take first readings on ordinances 26-14, 26-15, and 26-16, which relate to the Connector TIF redevelopment plan and project area designation. A waiver of the second reading has been requested. The council will also vote on Resolution 26-66 to approve the MCAT memorandum of understanding and Resolution 26-67 to approve the $91,392.70 UV bulb purchase. The consent agenda includes salaries of $535,791.63 and $520,239.05, overtime of $32,174.25 and $26,731.27, and bills of $522,4453.24.
Committee of the Whole (Aug. 17) – The committee will discuss five recommendations for future council action: a $115,139.74 purchase of playground equipment for Wiman Park ($61,717.37) and Radden Park ($53,422.37) from Park and Play; a $31,051.00 roof repair for Fire Station 21 (White Roofing layover and fascia replacement); a $15,559.00 spare check valve for High Service Pumps 4 and 5; renewal of a $6,500,000 line of credit with Blackhawk Bank & Trust at 4.75% interest; and an ordinance to prohibit parking on school days from 7:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. on parts of 5th Street and 4th Street A near Hillcrest Elementary.
Coming up
Both the City Council and Committee of the Whole meet Aug. 17. The council’s public hearing on Empire Park improvements and the TIF ordinances are open to the public. The Committee of the Whole will take up the playground equipment, roof repair, and line of credit items as recommendations for a future council vote.
Week of 2026-08-10
Fire Insurance Board Approves Equipment; Council to Consider Downtown Funding
The Foreign Fire Insurance Board approved multiple equipment purchases for East Moline fire stations at its July 28 meeting, including extrication equipment and tools. The board also approved televisions and a sound bar for Station 22, denied a duplicate TV request, and approved ice machine servicing at all stations. No dollar amounts were listed in the minutes.
Other city boards met this week with agenda items still pending decision.
Foreign Fire Insurance Board (July 28)
From official minutes, the board:
- Approved the April 28, 2026 meeting minutes and the July 2026 Treasurer’s Report.
- Approved a TV for Station 22, a sound bar for Station 22, and a TV for the Station 22 training room.
- Denied a second TV request for Station 22 as a duplicate.
- Approved extrication equipment, tools for Station 23, a bay fan for Station 21, and ice machine servicing at all stations.
- A request for a griddle was withdrawn.
Committee of the Whole (August 3)
The committee discussed and is expected to vote on:
- An agreement to join the Multijurisdictional Crash Assistance Team (MCAT) to share crash-reconstruction resources.
- A resolution to purchase UV disinfection bulbs for the wastewater treatment plant (amount not specified).
- A change order for 15th Avenue streetscaping and storm-sewer work.
- An ordinance approving the East Moline Connector Tax Increment Financing Redevelopment Plan and Project Area.
- A request to create the “Pathways Heritage Interpretive Trail.”
These items remain proposals until a vote is recorded.
City Council (August 3)
The council agenda included:
- Approval of $540,450.82 in salaries and $26,044.08 in overtime.
- Approval of $1,590,691.06 in bills.
- Renewal of a $50,000 services agreement with East Moline Main Street for downtown redevelopment.
- Approval of $32,616 for concrete work at the 30th Avenue Lift Station.
- Second reading of ordinance 26-13 to add no-parking zones.
No votes have been published yet.
Pool Board (July 29)
The board discussed purchasing a tablet for processing card payments at the municipal pool, reviewed an ice machine issue, and heard the Pool Manager’s report covering attendance, swim club, lessons, high school use, and maintenance. No decisions were recorded.
Special Service Area Committee (August 4)
The committee reviewed bills for Respect Abilities (July–December 2026), received a RAISE Grant update, discussed Runners’ Park maintenance, and considered future plans, goals, and budget. All items remain under discussion.
Coming up
No upcoming meetings are listed for the next 14 days. Check the city’s official calendar for any newly scheduled sessions.
Week of 2026-08-03
East Moline roundup: Fire board approves station equipment; council set to vote on downtown funding and no-parking zones
The Foreign Fire Insurance Board approved several fire station equipment purchases at its July 28 meeting, the only recent East Moline meeting with published minutes. Four other recent meetings remain agenda-only, meaning the city has not yet released minutes showing what was decided.
Foreign Fire Insurance Board — July 28 (decided)
The board approved its April 28 meeting minutes and the July 2026 Treasurer's Report, then acted on a series of equipment requests for city fire stations.
Approved items included a TV and sound bar for Station 22, a TV for the Station 22 training room, extrication equipment, tools for Station 23, a bay fan for Station 21, and ice machine servicing at all stations. A second TV request for Station 22 was denied as a duplicate, and a griddle request was withdrawn.
No dollar amounts for the purchases were included in the available minutes.
Committee of the Whole — July 20 (agenda only)
The committee was scheduled to consider Resolution 26–63, renewing the city's professional services agreement with the nonprofit East Moline Main Street for fiscal year 2026. The agreement provides a $50,000 investment for downtown redevelopment, small-business assistance, events, and tourism, and gives the city three voting representatives on the nonprofit's board. The $50,000 was already paid earlier in the fiscal year; the resolution sought formal approval of the renewal. The agreement term would run July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027, with quarterly reports and an annual work plan required.
Minutes have not been published, so the outcome is not yet confirmed.
City Council — July 20 (agenda only)
The council agenda included a consent agenda with salaries totaling $626,367.66, overtime of $30,538.53, and bills of $1,259,536.78. The council was also scheduled to take up Ordinance 26–13, a first-reading amendment to add designated no-parking locations, and Resolution 26–62, authorizing the city to proceed with obtaining an Illinois Environmental Protection Agency NPDES permit for the wastewater treatment facility.
Minutes have not been published.
Park Board — July 23 (agenda only)
The Park Board was scheduled to review financial reports and discuss several maintenance and development items, including Garfield Park sand replacement, a Butterworth Park shelter, a Park Logo Contest launch, a mini soccer pitch, and a Hoops 4 Hope information stand.
Minutes have not been published.
Pool Board — July 29 (agenda only)
The Municipal Swimming Pool Board was scheduled to review the Pool Manager's report — covering attendance, swim club, lessons, high school use, and maintenance — and to consider purchasing a tablet for processing card payments at the pool. Old business included discussion of an ice machine.
Minutes have not been published.
Coming up
- **City Council — Monday, Aug. 3:** Scheduled votes include approval of $540,450.82 in salaries, $26,044.08 in overtime, and $1,590,691.06 in bills; renewal of the $50,000 services agreement with East Moline Main Street; approval of $32,616 for concrete work at the 30th Avenue Lift Station; and a second reading of Ordinance 26–13 adding no-parking zones.
- **Committee of the Whole — Monday, Aug. 3:** Scheduled discussion and possible votes on joining the Multijurisdictional Crash Assistance Team (MCAT), purchasing UV disinfection bulbs for the wastewater treatment plant, a 15th Avenue streetscaping and storm-sewer change order, an ordinance approving the East Moline Connector Tax Increment Financing Redevelopment Plan and Project Area, and a request to create the "Pathways Heritage Interpretive Trail."
- **Special Service Area Committee — Tuesday, Aug. 4:** Scheduled review of financial reports, bills for Respect Abilities (July–December 2026), a RAISE Grant update, Runners' Park maintenance, and SSA future plans, goals, and budget.
Week of 2026-07-20
East Moline Roundup: Lead Line Bids, Parking Changes, and Pension Review on Recent Agendas; NPDES Permit and Main Street Renewal Up This Week
East Moline's recent government meetings covered lead service line replacement bids, downtown parking lot resurfacing, and fire pension board business — but minutes have not yet been published for any of the July sessions, so final outcomes are not yet confirmed. Here is what was on the agendas.
City Council — July 6 (minutes not yet published)
The City Council agenda included several resolutions and ordinances with financial implications for residents:
- **Resolution 26-57:** Bid award for Lead Service Line Replacement – Phase 1.
- **Resolution 26-58:** Water Filtration Plant – repair and rebuild of Raw Pump #1.
- **Resolutions 26-59/26-60:** Authorization and inducement for purchase of 465 Avenue of the Cities.
- **Ordinances 26-11/26-12:** First reading to purchase real estate at 1325 10th Street and 1400 9th Street.
- **Consent agenda:** Salaries of $521,242.06, overtime of $18,301.60, and bills of $1,773,882.40.
Fire department promotions and public comment were also scheduled. Because minutes are not yet available, it is not confirmed which items passed.
Committee of the Whole — July 6 (minutes not yet published)
The committee agenda featured three items:
- An ordinance to add no-parking zones on 44th Avenue and 3rd Street A, cited as improving emergency access.
- An Illinois EPA NPDES permit renewal fee of $50,000.
- Approval of plans for downtown parking lot resurfacing along 15th Avenue, with $276,000 in FY'26 budget funds allocated. Plans, specs, and bidding documents were listed as available for review.
Outcomes are not confirmed pending minutes.
Fire Pension Board — July 17 (minutes not yet published)
The Board of Trustees agenda included:
- Approval of a regular retirement benefit for Todd Caves.
- Review and possible approval of an actuarial valuation and tax levy request.
- Board officer elections for President and Secretary.
- Disability hearing and medical examination updates for Daniel Haley.
- Discussion and possible action on a Cash Management Policy.
Financial reports and investment results from Marquette Associates were also scheduled for review. No outcomes are confirmed.
Coming Up
City Council — Monday, July 20, 2026
- **Resolution 26-62:** Authorization to proceed with obtaining an Illinois EPA NPDES permit for the city's wastewater treatment facility.
- **Ordinance 26-13:** City Code amendment to add designated No Parking locations.
- **Consent agenda:** Salaries totaling $626,367.66, overtime totaling $30,538.53, and bills totaling $1,259,536.78.
Committee of the Whole — Monday, July 20, 2026
- **Resolution 26-63:** Renewal of the professional services agreement with East Moline Main Street for FY2026, providing a $50,000 investment for downtown redevelopment, small-business assistance, events, and tourism. The agreement term runs July 1, 2026 through June 30, 2027, and gives the City three voting representatives on the nonprofit's board. The $50,000 has already been paid earlier in the fiscal year; the resolution seeks formal approval of the renewal. Quarterly reports and an annual work plan are required.
Both meetings are scheduled for today. Residents should check the city's official website for agendas, meeting times, and any posted minutes from earlier July sessions.
Week of 2026-07-06
East Moline Council to weigh lead pipe replacement bid, property purchases; recent board meetings remain unconfirmed
East Moline's City Council meets tonight, July 6, to consider a bid award for lead service line replacement and authorize several property purchases, while the Committee of the Whole takes up parking restrictions and downtown resurfacing plans. Minutes from three June 23 board meetings have not yet been published, so outcomes from those sessions are not yet available.
City Council — July 6
The council's agenda includes several resolutions and ordinances:
- **Resolution 26-57**: Bid award for Lead Service Line Replacement – Phase 1.
- **Resolution 26-58**: Water Filtration Plant – Repair and Rebuild Raw Pump #1.
- **Resolutions 26-59/26-60**: Authorization and inducement for purchase of 465 Avenue of the Cities.
- **Ordinances 26-11/26-12**: First reading to purchase real estate at 1325 10th Street and 1400 9th Street.
The consent agenda lists salaries of $521,242.06, overtime of $18,301.60, and bills of $1,773,882.40. Public comment and fire department promotions are also scheduled.
Committee of the Whole — July 6
The committee will consider three items:
- An ordinance adding no-parking zones on 44th Avenue and 3rd Street A, cited as improving emergency access.
- A resolution to renew the Illinois EPA NPDES permit for a $50,000 fee.
- Approval of plans for resurfacing downtown parking lots along 15th Avenue, with $276,000 in FY'26 budget funds allocated. Plans, specifications, and bidding documents are available for review.
Foreign Fire Insurance Board — June 23
Only an agenda is available; minutes have not been published. The board was scheduled to approve April 28 meeting minutes, approve the June 2026 treasurer's report, receive a status update on gear lockers at Station 21, and review current purchase request forms. No decisions can be confirmed.
Joint Review Board — June 23
The Joint Review Board was scheduled to review the proposed Connector Tax Increment Financing (TIF) Plan and Project Area, along with related draft ordinances, before making a recommendation to the City Council. The agenda also included selection of a Recorder and Public Member at Large, consideration of a recommendation to the City Council, and a review of the timetable and next steps. Minutes have not been published, so no outcomes are confirmed.
Special Service Area (SSA) Committee — June 23
The SSA Committee agenda listed a financial report and bill approvals, an update on façade/fencing grant applications, a RAISE grant update by city staff, a discussion of Runners' Park maintenance, and a review of future plans, goals, and budget for the SSA. Minutes have not been published.
Coming up
- **City Council** — Tonight, July 6. Lead service line replacement bid, property purchases, and a consent agenda totaling more than $2.3 million in salaries, overtime, and bills.
- **Committee of the Whole** — Tonight, July 6. No-parking ordinance, IEPA permit renewal, and downtown parking lot resurfacing plans.
Residents seeking confirmed outcomes from the June 23 meetings should watch for published minutes from the Foreign Fire Insurance Board, Joint Review Board, and SSA Committee.
Week of 2026-06-29
East Moline City Council to consider lead service line replacement bid and property purchases
The East Moline City Council will weigh a major infrastructure contract and the acquisition of several parcels when it meets Monday evening. A bid award for the first phase of lead service line replacement tops the agenda, alongside resolutions to purchase a commercial property and first readings to buy two residential lots.
No formal decisions were reported from the three boards that convened in late June because minutes had not been published by press time. The Joint Review Board reviewed a proposed Connector Tax Increment Financing plan, the Foreign Fire Insurance Board handled routine financial reports, and the Special Service Area Committee discussed grant applications and park maintenance.
City Council to vote on lead line contract, land deals
The council agenda for July 6 includes Resolution 26-57, which would award the Phase 1 bid for replacing lead service lines. A separate item, Resolution 26-58, calls for repairing and rebuilding Raw Pump #1 at the water filtration plant. No dollar figures for either project were listed in the meeting packet.
Two resolutions (26-59 and 26-60) would authorize the purchase of 465 Avenue of the Cities and provide an inducement agreement for the deal. Meanwhile, first readings of Ordinances 26-11 and 26-12 would begin the process of acquiring single-family properties at 1325 10th Street and 1400 9th Street.
The council’s consent agenda bundles monthly financial approvals: salaries of $521,242.06, overtime of $18,301.60, and bills totaling $1,773,882.40. The meeting will also include public comment and recognition of fire department personnel promotions.
Committee of the Whole to take up parking rules, sewer permit, lot resurfacing
Immediately preceding the council session, the Committee of the Whole will discuss three action items.
A proposed ordinance would establish no-parking zones along 44th Avenue and 3rd Street A. City officials said the restrictions are needed to improve access for emergency vehicles.
The committee will consider a resolution to renew the city’s National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit with the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency. The renewal fee is $50,000.
Members will also review final plans to resurface downtown parking lots along 15th Avenue. The project would draw $276,000 from the fiscal year 2026 budget. Plans, specifications and bidding documents are ready for review.
In other recent meetings
The Foreign Fire Insurance Board on June 23 approved minutes from April 28, reviewed the June treasurer’s report, received an update on gear lockers at Station 21, and examined current purchase request forms. Minutes were not yet available.
The Joint Review Board met the same day to select officers and review the proposed Connector TIF Plan, draft ordinances and a timetable for the project. The board was expected to vote on a recommendation to the City Council, but no record of a decision was public by deadline.
The Special Service Area Committee heard a financial report, discussed façade and fencing grant applications, received a RAISE grant update from staff, and talked about maintenance at Runners’ Park. Members also began setting future plans and budget priorities for the special service area.
Coming up
The East Moline City Council meets Monday, July 6, at 6:30 p.m. in City Hall council chambers. The Committee of the Whole convenes earlier the same evening; a start time was not listed on the agenda.
Generated from official meeting agendas and minutes — every underlying document is linked from the city page. Read the primary source before you rely on a detail.