The Boring PartsFederalLocal · USLocal · Canada
Des Moines, IA · all Des Moines meetings

Des Moines meeting summaries, agendas, and minutes

Plain-English weekly recaps written from official meeting records. 3 weeks available.

Weeks

Week of 2026-10-26

Des Moines council approves $1.7M ambulance purchase, TIF districts and two bond sales

The Des Moines City Council approved the purchase of four type 1 ambulances for $1,703,420 on a 7-0 vote at its Oct. 19 regular meeting, the largest of several spending decisions the body made that day. The same meeting produced new tax increment financing districts, road program change orders and the vacation of an alley right-of-way, and a special meeting two days later cleared the sale of two bond series.

Ambulances and protective equipment

The council voted 7-0 to buy four type 1 ambulances for $1,703,420. In a separate 7-0 vote, it approved the purchase of 70 chemical protection suits for $298,020.80. Both items were recorded as decided in the official minutes of the amended regular meeting.

Two new TIF districts

Council members voted 7-0 to establish TIF District No. 2 in the Drake Urban Renewal Area, and by the same 7-0 margin established Riverview TIF District No. 1. Tax increment financing districts are a mechanism that directs growth in property tax revenue from a defined area toward projects within it; the meeting record summarized here does not list the specific projects planned for either district.

Road contracts and a right-of-way vacation

The council approved a $478,429.70 change order for the 2026 HMA Resurfacing Program on a 7-0 vote, and a $165,000 supplemental agreement for Douglas Avenue Improvements, also 7-0. A 7-0 vote approved the vacation of alley right-of-way at 513 E. Court Avenue for $175,000. The council also approved various alcoholic beverage license applications 7-0; the summary does not name the applicants.

Bond sales and a liquor license at the Oct. 21 special meeting

At a special meeting on Oct. 21, the council directed the sale of General Obligation Bonds, Series 2026A, and Taxable General Obligation Bonds, Series 2026B. Both motions passed 6-0, with one council member absent, according to the minutes. The same meeting approved an 8-month Class C Liquor License for Broken Spoke Bar and Grill, 6-0. The council approved the agenda as presented 6-0 and adjourned at 4:43 PM. The meeting record summarized here does not state the dollar amount of either bond series.

Work session: budget timeline and bike rules

A council work session was also scheduled for Oct. 19 to review the Fiscal Year 2029 budget timeline, discuss Radon and Chapter 60 code updates, and take up a proposed ordinance on Ebikes, Emotos and Model Bikes. Only the agenda for that session was available; minutes have not been published, so no discussion or direction from it is reported here.

Coming up

The meeting data reviewed for this roundup listed no upcoming Des Moines City Council meetings scheduled in the next 14 days. Residents who want to confirm whether a session has been added should check the city's official meeting calendar and posted agendas, which remain the authoritative record.

All items described above are drawn from official meeting summaries and minutes. Where the record did not include a figure, name or outcome, this article does not supply one.

Week of 2026-10-19

Des Moines council advances $63.3M in bond sales, rezones Army Post Road sites

The Des Moines City Council on Oct. 5 approved advertising the sale of $56.94 million in General Obligation Bonds and $6.4 million in Taxable General Obligation Bonds, the largest of several 7-0 votes on spending, land use and tax matters at its regular meeting.

The votes authorize advertising the bond sales; the meeting record does not state that the bonds have been sold.

Bonds, rezoning and contracts

All items below passed 7-0, according to official minutes:

The two Army Post Road rezoning votes change the zoning classification for those properties. The sewer contract is an award to a named contractor at a stated price; the signage and pond items are a cost estimate and a grant, respectively.

Housing agency to draw on reserves for projected shortfall

The Municipal Housing Agency Governing Board, also meeting Oct. 5, approved three items on 7-0 votes:

The reserve authorization is a ceiling of up to $400,000, not a reported expenditure. The board's action addresses a projected gap in December 2026.

Work session: bus tour, no votes

The Mayor and City Council held a work session Oct. 5 at 8:00 AM at the Invest DSM office, 525 SW 5th Street, Suite F. The only listed agenda item was a neighborhood bus tour. No ordinances, contracts or votes were listed. My DSM rebranding and a budget update were noted as upcoming topics. Minutes for that session have not yet been published.

Coming up

Oct. 19 — City Council Work Session. The council will review the Fiscal Year 2029 budget timeline and discuss Radon and Chapter 60 code updates and a proposed ordinance regarding Ebikes, Emotos and Model Bikes. Work sessions are open to the public and are where items are typically discussed before any vote.

Oct. 19 — Regular City Council Meeting. Agenda items include:

These are agenda items listed for consideration; the record provided does not indicate outcomes. Residents interested in the budget timeline, the bike ordinance, the ambulance purchase or the proposed Drake-area TIF district may want to attend or submit comment through the city's published process.

Week of 2026-10-12

Des Moines council advances $63.3M in bond sales, backs $400,000 housing shortfall reserve

The Des Moines City Council on Oct. 5 approved advertising for the sale of $56.94 million in General Obligation Bonds and $6.4 million in Taxable General Obligation Bonds — the largest of several money decisions recorded in the past two weeks. Every vote in the summaries provided was 7-0.

Bonds, contracts and other spending

At its regular Oct. 5 meeting, the council approved the advertisement for both bond sales. Approving an advertisement is a step toward selling bonds, not the sale itself; the summaries do not state a sale date, an interest rate, or what the proceeds would fund.

The council also awarded the 2026 Sewer Repair Contract 2 to TK Concrete, Inc. for $739,690, approved a $475,000 estimate for Downtown Skywalk Signage Replacement, and approved a $250,000 grant for Waveland Golf Course Pond Improvements. It approved 180 total tax abatement applications for 2024-2026. All were 7-0 votes.

Housing agency sets aside up to $400,000

The Municipal Housing Agency Governing Board, meeting Oct. 5, authorized up to $400,000 from administrative fee reserves to cover a projected December 2026 shortfall in Housing Assistance Payments. The authorization is a spending ceiling, not a reported payment.

The board also approved 2027 Payment Standards for the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher and Emergency Housing Voucher programs, and approved a HUD grant application for Family Self Sufficiency Program Coordinators. Both passed 7-0.

Two Army Post Road rezonings

The council approved rezoning 2100 E. Army Post Road to a Mixed-Use District and 1210 Army Post Road to a Limited Mixed-Use District, both on 7-0 votes. The summaries do not describe what is proposed for either property.

Liquor licenses

At a special session Sept. 29, the council approved its meeting agenda as presented and/or as amended, a 5-day Special Class C Liquor License for Excell Brands at 5501 Park Avenue, and a new 12-month Class C Liquor License for Viva Mexican Restaurant at 6101 Grand Avenue. All votes were 7-0. The meeting adjourned at 4:03 PM.

Work session: bus tour, no votes

The Mayor and City Council held a work session Oct. 5 at 8:00 AM at the Invest DSM office, 525 SW 5th Street, Suite F. The only listed agenda item was a neighborhood bus tour. Upcoming topics noted were a My DSM rebranding and a budget update. No ordinances, contracts, or votes were listed, and minutes have not yet been published.

Coming up

No upcoming meetings were listed in the data provided for the next 14 days. That reflects a gap in the record supplied here, not confirmation that nothing is scheduled; residents should check the city's official meeting calendar.

Generated from official meeting agendas and minutes — every underlying document is linked from the city page. Read the primary source before you rely on a detail.